Getting to Know You

My friend Britt (who I take tons of blog tips from) posted one of these last week and since they’re a little of a throwback to those old chain emails, I figured I’d give it a shot! Maybe you’ll learn something new about me! Feel free to join in (in the comments section), and let’s learn about each other!

flag photoFour names that people call me, other than my real name:

  • Bean
  • Beano
  • Kathy (jk. NO ONE CAN CALL ME THAT. Ew.)
  • Varner (people called me ‘Varner’ in high school, ie. my maiden name).

Four jobs I have had:

I’ve had sooo many jobs… 

  • Babysitter/Nanny
  • Jersey Mike’s Subs (first “real” job in high school)
  • Camp Counselor and Staff Member at Camp Mikell
  • Server (Morrell Wine Bar in Rockefeller Center, NYC)—I still believe everyone should work in the service industry at some point.
  • Social Worker (with LOTS of different populations: homeless adults, high schoolers in the Bronx, children 0-5 who have experienced trauma/abuse/neglect…)

Four movies I’ve watched more than once:

  • Dumb and Dumber
  • All the Harry Potters (something about this time of year and Harry Potter…)
  • Almost Heroes
  • Troop Beverly Hills (just re-watched this with the little sis…so good).

Four books I’d recommend:

  • All Tana French Mysteries
  • A Land More Kind Than Home by Wiley Cash
  • Holidays on Ice by David Sedaris
  • 11-22-63 by Stephen King (love a historical thriller)

Four places I have lived:

  • Athens, GA
  • New York City, NY
  • Fairfax, VA
  • Columbia, SC

Four places I have been:

  • Peru
  • Malta
  • Ireland
  • Monaco

Four places I’d rather be right now:

  • At the lake
  • At the beach
  • in NYC visiting friends
  • in Paris

Four things I don’t eat:

  • meat
  • fast food
  • seafood
  • soda

Four of my favorite foods:

  • soups…love soups
  • tacos loaded with cilantro
  • my moms corn and bean salad
  • my moms holiday cookies, and her chex mix

Four TV shows that I watch:

  • Scandal
  • Real Housewives of New York, Beverly Hills and Orange County
  • True Detective
  • Fixer Upper on HGTV (love Chip and Joanna).

Anyone agree? Disagree?

5 thoughts on “Getting to Know You

  1. I get Kathy all of the time too! I feel your pain. And I LOVE Chip and Joanna. I wish I lived in Waco where you could realistically buy a $30,000 house and make it amazing.

  2. Yay! I love these!
    Four names that people call me, other than my real name:
    Tina
    Trina
    Trine
    Tin Bop

    Four jobs I have had:
    Waitress
    Camp Counselor and Staff Member at Camp Mikell
    Independent Living Skills trainer
    Children’s Programs/Camp Director

    Four movies I’ve watched more than once:
    Pride & Prejudice
    Home Alone
    Waking Ned Divine
    Coal Miner’s Daughter

    Four books I’d recommend:
    The New Mind of The South
    The Unbearable Lightness of Being
    Harry Potter Books
    Art and Fear

    Four places I have lived:
    Atlanta
    Athens, GA
    Boulder, CO
    Nashville

    Four places I have been:
    London
    Taize, France
    Ouray, Telluride, Durango, CO
    Boston

    Four places I’d rather be right now:
    at home, on the couch with dog
    At the beach
    Atlanta visiting family and friends
    on stage

    Four things I don’t eat:
    peas
    fast food (except chik fil a duh)
    coffee
    margarine

    Four of my favorite foods:
    potatoes (any cooked form)
    fruit (all)
    chocolate
    beer

    Four TV shows that I watch:
    Boardwalk Empire
    Nashville
    Hell on Wheels
    Veep

    Thank you for helping me waste 10 minutes of my work day!

  3. Also, Bean, you forgot “Spleen” and “Ms. Bingo” as names people have called you. And I get “Christine” and “Katrina” all. the. time.

Leave a Reply

