July Book Club: A Land More Kind Than Home

Join us Monday to wrap up the discussion on our June book club pick Barbara Brown Taylor’s, Learning to Walk in the Dark (I heard her speak last night, so I should hopefully have some good discussion questions Monday). 

But if you’re keeping up with book club around here (#LYBIbookclub on FB, Twitter & Instagram), I choose a book towards the end of each month for the following month and then we’ll dicuss that book on the last day of the month (last weekday typically). If you want to read past selections, scroll on the right hand side to “Topics to Peruse” and select LYBI Book Club. It’ll pull the past selections and discussions. Maybe I should add it to the top toolbar? Let me know if that would make it easier.

So our July selection is ‘A Land More Kind Than Home‘ by Wiley Cash. IMG_0520A good friend of ours Jess (boy Jess) recommended this author on Facebook, and so David read another of Wiley Cash’s books, This Dark Road to Mercy a few weeks ago. Then he said I NEEDED to read it, and so I did. And I really enjoyed it. I loved his writing. Everyone says he’s the new great American novelist, which in my mind says, “get ready little folks, this’ll be your summer reading book in a couple years”. His writing was likened to Harper Lee and Cormac McCarthy, so if beautifully written stories are your forte, I say give this one a shot.

I’m about to start A Land More Kind Than Home so it’ll be the July pick. Oh and bonus, it was his first book so if you haven’t read anything else by Wiley Cash…GOOD! Join us this month–should be a quick read!

The back of the book reads, “For a curious boy like Jess Hall, growing up in Marshall means trouble when you get caught spying on grown-ups. Adventurous and precocious, Jess is protective of his older brother, Christopher, a mute whom everyone calls Stump. Though their mother has warned them not to snoop, Stump can’t help sneaking a look at something he’s not supposed to—an act that will have repercussions. It’s a wrenching event that thrusts Jess into an adulthood for which he’s not prepared. He now knows that a new understanding can bring not only danger and evil—but also the possibility of freedom and deliverance.”

Sounds like perfect summer reading to me. Now that I enjoy reading in the summer. But for the record, I HATED summer reading in school. One time, I didn’t read my required book The Giver at all. Like didn’t even pick it up. No bend in the spine at all. I totally judged that book by the cover and was like, “old man on the cover= slow and boring book”. And completely flunked the test. My 6th grade teacher asked me, “did you even read the book”, to which I said, “um…no. Could you tell?” Still haven’t read The Giver but I think they’re making it into a movie this year. Maybe I should make it up to myself and read it after all.

6 thoughts on “July Book Club: A Land More Kind Than Home

Leave a Reply

