LYBI Book Club: May Follow Up

birdmanWhoops! It’s June and we didn’t wrap up our May LYBI Book Club pick yet. Welp… it’s time to wrap up our May Book Club choice, ‘Birdman’. You can read the back-of-the-book synopsis here from when we introduced the book.

My general thoughts–when is this book going to be over? I won’t do a Q&A because I’m really hoping no one jumped on the LYBI band wagon for this one…I would be embarrassed if other people read this by my recommendation. Please don’t (and that is not a ploy to get you to read it–no reverse psychology here).  I had no idea what grotesqueness I was getting myself into, and wow…it was gross.  Murder I can handle. In a book. But murder, torture, mutilation and even worse things…gah…I felt like I was being tortured. Truthfully, I would have put it down pretty soon, but I felt like I had to read it because I went public saying I was reading it. Mo Hayder is not the mystery/suspense book I’d been waiting for until the next Tana French.

I guess that’s how book clubs go though…you win some, you lose some.  This book made me a loser. Well, not like that…you know what I mean. Let’s just move on to June book club and forget this ever happened. #ashamed

 

Leave a Reply

