Green Smoothie for Beginners

SMOOTHIE 2One of my favorite things to do for breakfast is a smoothie, especially now that it’s getting warm (aka sticky and hot) in SC. And since I try to get my workout done in the morning as well, I make sure my smoothie is filling and protein-packed. And it has to be quick and easy to make, which smoothies are. Step one: throw in things that taste good. Step 2: Push button. Step 3: Pour and drink. Here is my go-to recipe because we almost always have all of these ingredients in the fridge. And if you don’t, well, whatcha waiting for? Jump on the smoothie bandwagon already, for your health!SMOOTHIE 1Smoothie for Beginners

  • large handful or two of spinach (makes it green, but you really can’t taste it).
  • 3-4 strawberries
  • 1/3 banana (or half if it’s a small banana)
  • 1 scoop of protein powder (I like vanilla)
  • 1/2 c. liquid (i almost always useΒ  chocolate coconut water, or sometimes day-old coffee–NO coffee is thrown out in our house)
  • 4-5 ice cubes

Directions: put all of that in the blender (I have this KitchenAid which is amazing–esp at crushing ice), and let er’ rip. Make sure the liquid is the last thing you add so it kind-of soaks everything else. If it’s all sitting in the bottom because you added it first, it’s harder to get the whole thing going. And that’s it. Drink up. Here’s what My Fitness Pal says regarding the nutrition info. smoothie nutritionYeah, I know I needed to charge my phone. And this is all tailored to me, but I need about 50g of protein a day, so breakfast at almost 20 is pretty good (for a vegetarian). I got tons of vitamins and I’ve been trying to keep my sugar intake in the 20’s range. So half my sugar in that smoothie (probably thanks to the banana and strawberries) is natural sugar, so that’s okay with me.

So what do you think? You going to have a smoothie tomorrow?

3 thoughts on “Green Smoothie for Beginners

  1. A) Looks refreshing (being serious, not playing).
    B) You need to charge your phone! πŸ™‚
    C) I might try summa dat Soylent stuff I’ve been hearing about, too.

  2. I usually do a smoothie for breakfast too. Here is my recipe:

    1 cup soy milk
    1 banana
    4-6 frozen whole strawberries (depending on size)
    1 large glob of cooked oatmeal

    With frozen strawberries, you don’t need any ice. I like to cook up a big batch of steel cut oatmeal ahead of time. I just keep it in the frig and scoop out a heaping spoonful each day.

    I have an Oster blender which works well…To make it blend quicker, I got the blades for it that crush ice, but the best thing for getting out the door quickly is the Blend-N-Go cup. It comes with a travel top. Just pour everything in the cup, screw on the blade, etc., invert, blend, go! No blender jar to clean. :>

Leave a Reply

