Recipe: Egg Salad

egg saladYep, I’m the annoying coworker who brings egg salad for lunch. Is it better than the tuna fish employee? Or the leftover Chinese food coworker? Or what about the popcorn popper? I may or may not be that person also…I don’t know. But moving on, eggs, while stinky, are great. I love eggs most ways, and I have a soft spot for egg salad because it’s so damn tasty. Well…when done right. And in my family, done ‘right’ means adding mustard and pickle relish. So, here’s how I do it.

  • Hard boil eggs (5-6 eggs makes about 3-4 servings). Not sure how? Click here.
  • Peel eggs under cold water (this helps the shell come off too).
  • Put cooled eggs in a bowl with a spoonful of mayo, spicy mustard (or any mustard), and pickle relish. And then add a little more pickle relish.
  • Smash the eggs up (I just use a fork) and stir everything together.
  • Add salt and pepper to taste.
  • Modifications: you could add a little cayenne or red pepper flakes if you like it hot, or even add capers instead of the relish if you’re going more savory. I stick to pickle relish because it’s awesome, but I could be alone there. egg salad fixinsThat’s it. Simple and delicious egg salad.

How do you like your egg salad? Pickle relish to sweeten it up? Or more savory? Both?

9 thoughts on “Recipe: Egg Salad

Leave a Reply

