Kitchen Sink Salad

salad 2Do you ever come home from a vacation weekend and feel like you just really need some green juice, paired with a large salad and a side of kale and spinach? Sometimes, when I’ve been over indulging on onion dip and margaritas, I find that I miss all the important greens that my body really craves. I felt that way a little bit this week, and so it was time for one of my favorite salads.

Disclaimer: This is one my mom should probably be telling you about since she’s basically the best cook ever, and well…it’s her recipe. So all credit’s go right on home to mom on this delicious salad. Thanks mom!

Moving on, as you may have guessed, I called it the kitchen sink salad because you can throw anything in there (everything but the kitchen sink, get it?). I’ve listed the ingredients we like, but throw in an avocado if you’ve got it. Or capers. Yum. The things I’ll share are my favorites particularly because I tend to prefer a more acidic (less fruity) salad. So here goes.kitchen sink salad

Kitchen Sink Salad

Mix all of the below ingredients into mixed greens of your choice. I like adding fresh arugula and spinach to the mixed greens we grab from the Whole Foods. Some bib lettuce or endive would also be really good.

  • handful of artichoke hearts
  • 2 tbsp of oil from artichoke hearts (used as a dressing)
  • pitted kalamata olives
  • peppercinis (cut up, adds a little spice)
  • 3 hearts of palm stalks
  • cherry tomatoes
  • 1 cucumber
  • feta crumbles
  • mixed greens

That’s it! Pretty easy, right?

What’s your favorite kind of salad? Send it to me and I’ll feature it here! Happy Friday, folks! Can’t wait to go see my little sis graduate from college! Anyone else have super fun plans?

Leave a Reply

