LYBI Book Club: April Follow Up

Since it’s the last day of April (is 2014 flying by for anyone else?), it’s time to wrap up our April Book Club choice, ‘Where’d You Go, Bernadette?”. You can read the back-of-the-book synopsis here from when we introduced the book, and we’ll go ahead and get started! As always, there will be SPOILERS. So, join us if you’ve read the book or if spoilers don’t bother you ๐Ÿ™‚

So here we go. Iโ€™d love to hear your thoughts on any of the following (feel free to number your comment to correspond to the discussion point). Or you can talk about anything else that struck you about the book, and your thoughts.ย 


where'd you go, Bernadette

 

1. Ahhhh….Bernadette. What were your overall opinions of her? Loved her? Hated her? Discuss.

I totally loved her. I hated her in the beginning though–all her complaining about Seattle was wearing on me. Craftman houses…blah blah. But as the story developed and we learned more about her and her relationships, I learned to really love Bernadette.

2. We know so much about Bernadette and Bee, but I felt like Elgin was a little bit of a flat character (that really didn’t get sweet until the end). What did y’all think of Elgie? And Soo-Lin?

I was a little shocked honestly to hear about that little affair. I felt like all along Elgie loved Bernadette and I don’t think he slept with Soo-Lin because he wanted to, I think he did it because his life was unraveling around him, and he was confused. I’m sure this happens a lot more often than people speak about in real life.

3. Let’s talk about Antarctica. And how Bernadette did everything in her power to attempt to NOT travel there. And then, she does…on her own…and stays. Why did she do that?

In my mind, Bernadette was running away from everything. She was feeling trapped in her life, surrounded by the gnats, and she was uninspired. When she began to come to life again, she happened to be really far away and her family had no idea where she was. But she tries to contact them and let them know she’s safe–I think what she did was what she needed to do. And I think Bee knew too. And Elgie for that matter. They let Bernadette do her thing, and I think all along Elgie knew she’d be okay, no matter what.

4. I personally loved that Bernadette (such a smart and sophisticated women) didn’t realize that she was literally giving away all of her families safest information to her secret assistant/scam artist/identity thief. I loved this dynamic on a lot of levels. What did y’all think?ย 

I just said what I thought in that question…so, yeah. I felt like the identity theft was hilarious. I hope no one as educated and talented as Bernadette wouldn’t actually fall for that. But who knows! The whole time I was thinking, something is not right here…

5. What instance sent Bernadette over the edge and caused her to become…unhinged. Or was she always like that?

Maybe the rich neighbor buying her dream house made of recycled-local materials (which btw, I also thought was hilarious). I just really enjoyed Bernadette’s quirks.

6. What do you think of Bernadette and Elgieโ€™s marriage? Is it dysfunctional?ย  Is there real love there? How has their marriage changed over time?

Without a doubt I think there was real love. I think he was fed up when she was being so weird and sneaky and depressed, but like I said before, this probably happens a lot in real relationships. People change and evolve, and when you’re married, you commit to making those changes with them. For better or worse ๐Ÿ™‚

7. Whereโ€™d You Go, Bernadette is, at its core, a story about a woman who disappears, both literally and figuratively. Were you able to relate to the book? How and why? Do you feel Bernadetteโ€™s disappearance was unique, or do all women, in a sense, disappear into motherhood and marriage?

Found this question online from the publisher and I felt like it was a good one to open up to the “crowd”, aka my 2-5 readers who have also read this book. What do y’all think?

Okay, that’s enough to discuss. Like I said, feel free to send your numbered responses in the comment section, OR just let us know what you thought of the book. I personally really enjoyed it. More than I thought when I first started it. It grew on me a lot.

Oh, and make sure you check out our May selection, Birdman (a crime-detective thriller). I try to cater to all audiences around here, hopefully. And hey, if you have book club suggestions, leave them in the comments too (or tweet or facebook them to me). Thanks for reading!

 

Leave a Reply

