May Book Club: Birdman

I was perusing the internet looking for when the fifth Tana French novel comes out because I’m dying to read it. She is by far one of my favorite authors right now. A couple months ago, I raced through her 4 Dublin-based murder mysteries. They were totally gripping and the fifth one comes out in September, so I’ll just have to wait.

But for May LYBI Bookclub, I wanted something with that same feel. I just finished Where’d you Go, Bernadette which we’ll discuss a week from today, and so I was looking for something totally different. And I love a good crime-thriller and Amazon suggested that if I like Tana French, I’d love Mo Hayder. So I did some research and found the first book of her series, Birdman. birdman
The description reads:

In his first case as lead investigator with London’s crack murder squad, Detective Inspector Jack Caffery is called on to investigate the murder of a young woman whose body has been discovered near the Millennium Dome in Greenwich, south-east London. Brutalized, mutilated beyond recognition, the victim is soon joined by four others discovered in the same area—all female and all ritualistically murdered. And when the post-mortem examination reveals a gruesome signature connecting the victims, Caffery realizes exactly what he’s dealing with—a dangerous serial killer.

You may unsubscribe (but please don’t), but I’ve always been really fascinated by serial killers. I think it started in high school when I did a research paper on Jack the Ripper. And then I began reading more and more, even divulging my weird reading habits to David on our first date (hooked him anyways). I’m not a weird creep or anything, but you have to admit, peoples minds are pretty fascinating things. So I can’t wait for a new thriller series.

As always, I’ll be “reading” via Audible, but I wanted to announce the book a week ahead of time so anyone that wants to join can get the book from amazon, your local bookstore or library. Who doesn’t love a good thriller series?

6 thoughts on “May Book Club: Birdman

Leave a Reply

