Coco-Nutty Granola (Chocolate Version)

You may or may not have noticed that the sugar free movement is hitting the healthy food world by storm (mostly thanks to a gorgeous woman named Sarah Wilson). Sarah is an Austrailian TV host, blogger, TV personality that my friend Britt interviewed here, and she wrote the book ‘I Quit Sugar’ (#IQS).

IMG_9400I bought the book for the recipes and because I wanted to hear the method behind the madness. I wanted to see what the vegetarian options were like since it seemed like a very paleo-centric method. I’ll go ahead and say that a lot of it is very “paleo”, meaning that we should try and eat as closely to how our caveman/woman uh…relatives used to eat. A hunter/gatherer type method that is very high in protein and natural grains, and very sparse in sugars–even natural sugars (how often would tour cave friends come across a berry bush…probably not too often). That’s the assumption anyways.

And I did learn a lot from the book, particularly how sugar-centric our society is. I guess I already knew that but yeah, every celebration or heck, every meal, is often jam packed with sweets. I’m pretty lucky that I’m not a soda drinker and I’m not a big cake eater (donut…that’s another story), but there are some hidden sweets that this book helps you to be aware and beware of. Like what I did there?

One thing I know for sure–David and I are pretty healthy eaters. We don’t ever diet per se, but we try to follow the “everything in moderation” rule. We may have a really rich dessert one night as a treat, and we may have a super amazing creamy pasta another night, but for the most part, we love healthy foods. And so I’m here to share the first recipe I tried from the IQS cookbook, the “Coco-Nutty Granola” that is jam-packed with goodness.

Here it is folks…a snippet into the sugar free world. coco-nutty granola

Coco-Nutty Granola (we did the chocolate version…duh).

Ingredients:

  • 3 c. unsweetened coconut flakes
  • 2 c. almonds, cashews, pecans, walnuts, and/or pumpkin seeds (pick what you have/like) roughly chopped
  • 2 tbsp. chia seeds
  • 1 tsp. ground cinnamon
  • 5-7 tbsp butter or coconut oil (melted) –I did 4 tbsp of coconut oil and it was plenty–may cut to 3 next time
  • 3 tbsp. brown rice syrup (optional)
  • 1/2 c. raw cacao powder
  • 2 tbsp. cacao nibs

Directions:

Preheat oven to 250 degrees and line a baking tray with parchment paper. Combine all ingredients and spread onto tray. Bake for 15-20 mins, until golden, turning halfway through cooking time. Remove from oven, allow to cool. (I let mine bake for closer to 30 minutes, but maybe that’s just my oven).IMG_9466
IMG_9469

2 thoughts on “Coco-Nutty Granola (Chocolate Version)

Leave a Reply

