No Bake Protein Balls

Y’all know that I love super easy “to-go” breakfasts. From smoothies to juices, I need something quick and easy in the morning. And usually something filled with protein since I’m a vegetarian, and I gotta get it in where I can!

When I don’t have time for eggs or protein pancakes, I’ve got these super awesome “pop-in-your-mouth” bites that are basically dessert in healthy form–and they’re the perfect grab for running out the door. I made a version almost a year ago when I heard of Monica Nelsons cashew cookie chews, and I’ve modified it a bit. So here goes. Protein Balls

Ingredients

  • 1 cup unsalted almonds
  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 tsp kosher salt
  • dash of cinnamon, optional
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 2 tbsp agave syrup
  • 2 tbsp peanut butter (or cashew butter is great too) 
  • 1/4 cup dark chocolate chips
  • 1/4 cup coconut flakes
  • 2 tbsp chia seeds

Directions

  1. In a food processor; add the nuts and oats and process until it forms a fine crumble. Now add in the  salt and process for a few seconds more. (Add the dash of cinnamon if you want now-optional). Add in the agave and vanilla and process until combined.  Add the nut butter now if using-optional as well. Then add coconut flakes. And chia seeds. And dark chocolate chips. Freeze. Eat.

That’s it! Process it all and freeze them. No cooking involved.

And for a little behind the scenes action of what all this really looks like…

protein balls 4Happy Friday!

 

4 thoughts on “No Bake Protein Balls

Leave a Reply

