Homemade Chocolate Glazed Donuts (Bonus: Sprinkles!)

DSC_0491Happy National Donut Day! Okay, that’s not really today…is that even a thing? Probably. But here’s the real deal. Growing up, every Sunday after church we’d go get donuts as a sweet little treat. Was it bribery? In retrospect…maybe. But more likely than not, it was tradition, and that’s why we kept doing it. Oh yeah, and it was awesome. So, even now as an adult, I have a really special place in my heart for donuts.

And correct me if I’m wrong, but donuts are kind of trendy right now. Yes? Yes. Cupcakes…pshhhh… so 5 years ago. And yep, in certain parts of the country the Cronut is the most desired dessert, but I’m all in favor of a good ol’ cake donut. Only problem? South Carolina doesn’t stay up on the food trends as well as other places. We have a small selection of donut shops (meaning only Krispy and Dunkin)…and well, that isn’t what I was craving. So long story short, I decided to make my own. Chocolate glazed cake donuts are basically the best in my opinion, so that’s where I started. DELICIOUS.And here is the recipe I used via Mom What’s for Dinner. My glaze is definitely thinner than hers, which I didn’t mind because it actually kept my donut soft and cakey, rather than crusty and dry. Maybe next time I’ll add more glaze if I do a regular cake donut, but these were the perfect amount of chocolate and glaze for me.glazedChocolate Glazed Cake Donut (makes 1 dozen)

  • 1 and 1/2 cups organic or unbleached white flour
  • 1/2 cup dark Dutch cocoa
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 and 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 4 tbsp softened unsalted butter
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 9 tbsp hot coffee
Sift dry ingredients except for sugar. Beat sugar and butter, add eggs mix and add in the flour mixture, add in the hot coffee and vanilla. Stir until well mixed. Pour into a Ziploc bag and cut a small slit in the corner of the bag.Pipe out in the greased donut pan. Bake at 350 for 10 mins for large pan and 5 mins for mini donut pan.
 For glaze:
  • 1/2 c. powder sugar
  • 3-5 tbsp milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla
Stir milk into the powder sugar starting with 2 tbsp and vanilla, then continue to add milk till it becomes a thin texture.DSC_0489
DSC_0517
 
DSC_0500
 

DSC_0480

donuts collageGood thing I have a husband that works with kids, since that’s where ALL these donuts went after we each had one. I wasn’t going to keep a dozen donuts under my roof…dangerous. Verdict on baked donuts? Delicious and moist. I would make them “that day” if you have a party or something, because like regular cake, they wouldn’t sit out well. But man, they were really tasty and um…healthier because they aren’t fried. Eh? Anyways, hope y’all have a nice Monday!donuts

9 thoughts on “Homemade Chocolate Glazed Donuts (Bonus: Sprinkles!)

  1. This looks awesome. While I must disagree that the children at your hubby’s work really shouldn’t have all this sugar….it really should go to your co-workers. How could you just have 1?? You need to try to make something with Loveland Coffee Concentrate!

Leave a Reply

