Happy January 2nd!

Okay, going out on a limb here, and I know I’m probably not alone. I get all the New Years Day hype, resolutions, and collard greens and black eyed peas traditions, but I feel like I tend to not really kick my butt into gear until January 2nd. Hear me out…

blooms 2014January 1st is often the recovery from New Years Eve. And even though I was in bed by 12:30 this year, I was exhausted. After driving from Atlanta for the Holidays (which means back and forth from our parents houses several times), to the lake in NC, to TN for New Years, back to SC….we are exhausted. We got home yesterday around 5, put away all of our Christmas goodies, did 3 loads of laundry, emptied the dishwasher, ate dinner while watching Harry Potter 5, set the coffee pot for today…and went to bed at 10. Last year wasn’t that dissimilar for us since we spent NYE in North Carolina, so the same type thing happened.

I know, I know. Yesterday I was supposed to get up and run 15 miles and do Focus T25 and start the Tone It Up Love Your Body challenge, all while starting a new savings plan and a juice cleanse to detox from the Holidays. Yeah, well…I totally didn’t do anything inspirational on the 1st (although depending on your definition, 3 loads of laundry folded and put away is pretty inspirational around here…it’s the little things…).

My point? Sometimes New Years Day is as wacky as New Years Eve, and since they’re days that have now passed, it’s time to move on folks. Start today with whatever intentions you have. Did you skip your workout yesterday like I did? Start today. Or heck, spend today getting a plan together, and start tomorrow. Each day teaches us something, and yesterday, I needed to get my home clean and organized before re-starting my work and routine life this week. So I did. And all is still good around here. Here are my intentions this year (the thing that you plan to do or achieve) as opposed to resolution (the act of finding an answer or solution to a conflict, problem, etc.).

new years intentions 2

(as always, click to see larger, folks).new years intentionsI hope this helps some folks put things into perspective. Let’s get our lives right, starting today or tomorrow! The important thing is that you reflect on what is and isn’t important, ya know? And focus on what you intend to change this year. So with that, Happy 2014 folks!

Have a hard time with resolutions? Set BITTY-lutions. Itty bitty things you can do!

(original floral images Floral Styling by Amy Merrick | Photography by Alpha Smoot | Art Direction by Anna Bond Rifle Paper Co. 2013 Lookbook)

One thought on “Happy January 2nd!

Leave a Reply

