Guest Holiday Recipe: Berry Cobbler

Y’all remember Chris, right? She did a wonderful 20 something lady post for Love Ya Bean It, and then after writing about what she wanted at this stage in her 20’s, she got offered a job at her dream location (so basically the blog is magic).

I asked some girlfriends who were willing to share a quick and easy holiday recipe with my readers, and she quickly volunteered which I was thrilled about!

Here she is, ladies and gents, with a Gluten Free Cobbler! (yes, please).

easy-blackberry-cobbler-l-southernliving

Hello there, Love Ya Bean It Readers!! I’m so honored that Beano is sharing her blog-space with me to give you one of my favorite recipes. I made it recently when a bunch of my favorite Camp Mikell lady friends came over to celebrate Thanksgiving in potluck style. It was such a hit, there were no leftovers. I made this one gluten free so my roommate, Katy, could enjoy dessert with us! So here we go:

Gluten Free Blackberry Cobbler:

Inspired by: All Recipes Easy Batter Fruit Cobbler

Ingredients:

  • 4 tablespoons of butter
  • 3/4 gluten free flour
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 cup of milk
  • 2 cups of fresh blackberries (you can also sub in your favorite fruit, but we all loved the rich taste of blackberries after our thanksgiving pot luck)
  • 1 tablespoon sugar to sprinkle on top

Directions:

  1.  Adjust oven rack to upper-middle position and preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2.  While the oven is preheating put butter in a 9 inch round pan/ pie dish and set in the oven to melt. When the butter has melted, remove pan from the oven.
  3.  Whisk flour, 3/4 cup of sugar, baking powder and salt in small bowl.
  4.  Add milk; whisk to form a smooth batter. Pour that batter into baking dish.
  5.  Scatter the fruit on top of the batter. Be sure to spread it evenly so everyone gets delicious bites of fruit!
  6.  Sprinkle the remaining tablespoon of sugar on top of the fruit!
  7.  Bake until batter browns and fruit bubbles (about 55 minutes in my oven).
  8.  Serve warm with whipped cream like we did!

Gluten Free Cobbler How To

It’s pretty easy to make and I was able to use my new festive whisk and measuring cups from World Market that I simply adore. That store has everything. I got my pie dish and mixing bowl off Woot in a 19 piece baking set for $20. I love finding online deals!

Thanks, Bean, for letting me share. Thanks to my roommates, Katy and Haley, for being taste testers the week before when I made a trial cobbler!  I’ll be making this dish again soon to take to my next potluck party.

chris pic

2 thoughts on “Guest Holiday Recipe: Berry Cobbler

Leave a Reply

