Gift Guide: Fitness Guru

Since last week I talked briefly about the new gym I’d been going to, I figured, I could put together a little gift guide for the fitness guru’s in our lives.

The holiday season is the best time to begin preparing all of your new goals for the new year. A chance to start fresh, ya know? Hopefully you spent some time during Advent or just during the end of the year reflecting on the previous year, and while I don’t tend to make resolutions, I do tend to view the new year as a new start. And well frankly, when it comes to fitness, sometimes new goodies help motivate me to get out there and get moving. I can’t be alone in that, right? New shoes? New yoga pants? YAYER!

P.S. here are some tips from me on getting moving in the winter and getting up early to get the workout in!

So let’s get a move on. Ladies first.

Fitness Gift Guide For Her-Header For Her Fitness Gifts

These are some of my favorite workout goodies!

  1. I love the style of that workout shirt, and I want one. Now.
  2. I love a fitness tracker, and this Fitbit one is wayyyy cheaper than some of the others.
  3.  Since I have a new shorter do’, I need to use headbands when I workout. And no one wants an ugly headband, right? I love these by Sweaty Bands (they have tons of colors).
  4. I love my fitness armband and use it all the time–even when I’m just walking the dog to listen to a book. Hands free…yes please.
  5. I really like all of the Kettlebell workouts online, and they’re great rainy-day workouts that you can do inside.
  6. Um, are these not the prettiest yoga mats you’ve ever seen? I love them!

Fitness Gift Guide Men Header

Fitness Gifts for Him1. Now that outdoor workouts tend to be in the dark for us, it’s important to have a bright something (shirt, vest, etc.) so you don’t get hit by a car. I like this jacket for men.

2. These are great gym or at-home workout pants.

3. I gave David a GPS running watch a few years ago, and it really put running in the forefront of our workouts. It made it more fun to see all the details about your run…distance, maps, calories, heart rate, etc.

4. A good gym bag is always a good gift. I’m a firm believer in “you can never have too many bags” (aka I’m a total bag lady).

5. Jump rope. Yep, simple and yet so effective. You can burn 100 calories for 5 minutes of jump-roping (obvi this will vary a little based on your height, weight and how long you are actually jumping).

6. Compression tights/calf sleeves. These are great for long distance runners who have pretty chronic leg pain/soreness. These magically make all that pain go away.

7. Foam roller. I know, I know. It’s a weird gift. But I got one recently and I love it. It hurts (in the best way) when you roll out your muscles that are sore. And I’m not trying to make a blanket statement, but I find that girls stretch more often than guys, so this is a great gift for a dude.

Which gifts do you like? Want? Any other good fitness suggestions, let me know in the comments!

7 thoughts on “Gift Guide: Fitness Guru

Leave a Reply

