Gluten Free Onion Tart

When I lived in NY I got to work at an awesome wine bar with my big sis. In addition to working in Rockefeller Center, and getting to build my wine knowledge (opening up $900 bottles of wine for educational purposes), I got to eat some amazing food. By far one of the restaurants best-sellers was an appetizer called appropriately, the ‘onion tart’. There is nothing bad for you bad about onions and cheese together. In fact, it’s all good. Really freakin’ good.

This past weekend we had our monthly (can we call it monthly) “Puppies and Hubbies” dinner. Are you wondering where I’m headed with this? We just started calling it that on our shared Google Cal’s, but basically some of my girlfriends and our significant others all get together at each others houses every few weeks for dinner. And since we all have youngish dogs, we invite them to come to our dinner party also (aka we invite them to chew on each others faces for 5 hours while we eat and drink). One of my favorite parts of Hubbies and Puppies is that my friend Emily is gluten free, which always presents a new challenge for me.

So this time, I found an amazing onion tart recipe, and I made it. Gluten free. Yep, I went there. And it was really good for you good.

onion tart

Adapted from Smitten Kitchen

Gluten Free Onion Tart (with Goat Cheese and Fennel)

2 teaspoons fennel seeds
3 pound yellow onions, halved and thinly sliced
1 tablespoon Dijon mustard (I use a bit more)
1/2 cup grated Parmigiano-Reggiano

My additions:

Goat Cheese (crumbled over the top before baking), a Gluten Free Pizza Crust (or dough ball if you can find one), and some greek yogurt (0% Fage), and a splash of red wine.

Preheat oven to 375°F with rack in middle.

Heat 1/3 cup oil in a 12-inch heavy skillet over medium-high heat until it shimmers, then sauté fennel seeds until a shade darker, about 30 seconds. Stir in onions, remaining teaspoon salt, and 1/2 teaspoon pepper, then reduce heat to medium-low and cover onions. Cook, stirring occasionally, until onions are very tender and golden brown. I did this for about an hour.

(I then checked in with Ina Garden/Barefoot Contessa to see how she caramelizes onions, and so once my onions were soft, I added a splash of red wine, and continued to let them cook for a few minutes).
20130910-195622.jpg

20130910-195701.jpg

20130910-195759.jpg

20130910-195813.jpg

20130910-195828.jpg

To prepare the dough, I didn’t do anything except put it on a cookie sheet and spread a mixture of dijon mustard and Fage greek yogurt on top. These act like a “base”. I then salt and peppered the dough, and then added the cooked onions. After that, I added parmesan and goat cheese on top, and baked those suckers for about 35-40 minutes. Then I added fresh basil to the top (green and purple) for a garnish.

20130910-195839.jpg

20130910-195900.jpg

Leave a Reply

