Fruit Fly Potion

Apologies ahead of time that my “welcome back after a long weekend” post is kind of gross. But here’s the deal. David and I were out of town for the long weekend and when we returned home, we had a fruit fly problem. Bad banana? Rotten lemon? That’ll do it. So I decided to try something I’d heard before with a special little touch. And it totally worked, which was awesome! So here’s a quick how-to on getting rid of fruit flies.

fruit flies 3What you need:

Apple Cider Vinegar and dish soap.

Special ingredient: white wine. Bugs always gravitate to wine. (Don’t we all…)

fruit flies 1Directions:

No science here, I just eyeballed everything. About a cup of ACV. About 1/2 cup (or about a 2-3 second squeeze) of dish soap. And then a splash of white wine, what ever you have on hand. Red would probably work too, or coke/sprite. Something sugary.

Put it all together and since it’ll HOPEFULLY be collecting bugs, put these ingredients in a container you don’t care about.

I put it up off the counter so it wouldn’t get knocked into or anything. And I put it out around 6pm on Monday. Around 6am on Tuesday, it was full of bugs. 12 hours later. Ew. And awesome at the same time.

fruit flies 2

Fruit fly potion above, not pee.

Like I said, coming home to a kitchen with fruit flies is never fun and even though summer is winding down and hopefully these little guys will be gone soon, I had to try something. So for those of you that are spending your end of summer days with buggies, try this. It totally worked!

Β flies 3

**UPDATE TO THIS POST: RED WINE WORKS TOO. I EVEN CAUGHT A COUPLE ACTUAL FLIES (MY HOUSE ISN’T AS GROSS AS IT SOUNDS, I SWEAR).

7 thoughts on “Fruit Fly Potion

  1. Ahhh thank you for posting this!!! I have been chasing two nasty little stinkers all morning! I love my fresh fruit and veggies, but oye those little guys are soo annoying

Leave a Reply

