QUICK Pound Cake with Lemon Glaze

How many times have you been invited somewhere and you always do the polite thing of asking, “and what can we bring?”, right? That’s just etiquette, yes? Well…we’ve got that step down. We’re pretty good about asking. But remembering to bring something isn’t usually my strong suit. Usually it’s about an hour before that I remember I said I’d make a dessert for the party.

My thought process:

“Okay, I’ve got an hour. I could go to Whole Foods and grab something but it won’t be unique at all.”

“Hm…can’t bake anything with that amount of time.”

“Maybe I can bring a cake that NEEDS to be baked during dinner? No–I don’t want to be responsible for that at someone elses house.”

Well, if you’ve ever had this type of predicament, I’m here to tell you that I do it a lot. And now I’ve got a couple “LAST MINUTE” options that have been killer. So here’s the last minute dessert option.

Pound Cake with Lemon Glaze

The Cake:

If you’re last minuteness has left you with several hours, you could bake the cake. But almost every bakery/grocery store will have fresh pound cake. So, if you’re last minute means an hour or less like me, just pick on of those up and take it home, unwrap it, and plate it.

For the glaze:

2 cups of confectioners sugar (powdered sugar)

Zest of one Lemon

Juice of 2 lemons

Splash of water

(all of which we had on hand)

Combine all ingredients in a mixing bowl, stir together, and voila, lemon glaze.

I served mine on the side, but this is one of those things that if you don’t add the water, it’ll be thick enough, like frosting almost, and you can pour it over the top.

photo 1 photo 2 photo 3

photo 4 photo 5

My inspiration for doing a cake like this? Smitten Kitchen’s Lemon Cake looks ah-maz-ing.Β 

259406214_a47555e8c2

 

One thought on “QUICK Pound Cake with Lemon Glaze

Leave a Reply

