Big Changes Ahead

I’ve had a lot of long dog walks and I’ve put some serious miles on my car in the past few months. What does that mean? I’ve had a lot of time to think and I’ve got some news for you readers. No, it’s not that I love to travel. You probably already know that about me. So what’s up?

1. I quit my job.
2. I’ve accepted a new job!

For confidentiality and some sense of privacy (which isn’t easy when you’re writing a blog by the way–how much to share…what is too much…etc.) I won’t talk about the specifics to protect both places. Let’s just say that I kept trying to make my previous job fit, and it didn’t.

And then…things just tend to work in mysterious ways…I got a new job offer. That I promptly turned down out of fear of leaving my comfort zone. I am okay with some change. But like most people, change is hard. And I figured it’d be easier to just stay put.

But that offer resurfaced. And then I kept thinking about something a friend and I were talking about recently at camp (youth camp dean’s staff). A Bible story (don’t worry–I won’t get all preachy on you–and if you know it you can skim ahead) where a floods coming and while everyone is evacuating, this one dude is like, “no, I’m good–God’ll take care of me”. So the flood begins and a guy rides walks by and is like, “c’mon man! Flood’s coming!” and the man stays in his house and the flood continues to come. And then someone else comes by on a boat and is like, “c’mon man, you gotta get out of here!”, and the guy is like, “no, God’s got my back. I’m good”. So the boat leaves. And the waters keep rising. (you all know where I’m going with this, right?) And then the man’s on his roof and the waters are really high and he’s getting worried. And then a helicopter comes by to rescue him and he’s like, “no thanks, God’s gonna take care of me”. And then the man drowns. And when he see’s God, he’s like, “GOD! Where were you! I thought you had my back??” and God was like, “well, I sent a warning, and a boat and a helicopter—what more did you want.” BOOYAH, right? I bet that guy was like, “awwww, man!!!!!!”

So anyways, that thought kept coming to me. I was like, “when does a job offer ever come back up when you turn it down? Is this a sign?” And not just that but it was a better offer in a field that I’ve spent all my time and money working towards. So, I went for it. So for what it’s worth, I embraced the change and took the new offer. Pretty scary and exciting all at once!

9204b637ba5b83ab55fc88884b9728a2

 

5 thoughts on “Big Changes Ahead

  1. Change is the only constant in life. So glad that you embraced the courage, and seized the opportunity to step outside of your comfort zone- escape the rooftop- instead of drowning. You are far too precious and smart for that. Only wonderful things will come your way Bean. When you are my age…you know these things:)

  2. Congratulations! And I love the interpretation of the bible story. I’m not religious but throw in a couple “Boo Yeahs!” and I was totally following along with that one! Way to take charge- “I am the master of my fate: I am the captain of my soul.” – William Ernest Henley

Leave a Reply

