Camping Essential: Trail Mix

I know I should consult with my friend and trail mix junkie Britt, before I make my own, but that’s what’s on the agenda. We’re going camping soon, so I need a lightweight and protein-packed trail mix. Growing up, we always just did raisins, peanuts and m&m’s…true GORP. But, I don’t care for raisins unless they’re mixed with enough other things that I can’t really taste them. So, here are some of the options on the menu.

Trail Mix Ideas:

Eating Bird Food’s Naked Raw Trail MixΒ –picture from Eating Bird Food

IMG_1949

Eating Bird Food’s Pumpkin Spice Trail Mix— Picture from Eating Bird Food

pumpkin-mix1

Smitten Kitchen’s Granola Bars–Picture from Smitten Kitchen

3879684274_f9e84ee1a5

And lastly, for the coconut lovers like myself…Coconut Trail MixΒ from Whole Living

wk2-s-trail-mix-026-mbd109439_vert

What other camping essentials do y’all have besides trail mix? We’re also bringing the lovely Colonel Mustard for the first time, so any tips you have about camping with a dog would be welcome in the comments! Growing up, we did A LOT of camping and “cabin-ing”, so we have almost everything we need. Once I make trail mix.

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

7 thoughts on “Camping Essential: Trail Mix

  1. Aside from Jerkey and trail mix I like to bring a few GoPicnics. I take them out of the box so they pack smaller. Groupon has a deal for them right now πŸ™‚

  2. You know me so well! I highly recommend making trail mix or calling your mom and having her make you some of her chex mix). I know you said that she just makes the original recipe, but I think she must secretly add something to it. It’s so good! πŸ™‚

    Both recipes of mine you posted would be great picks. There’s also this lentil trail mix, which is different and tasty. I’ve made it before and really liked it.

    http://www.healthfulpursuit.com/2012/04/beach-bum-lentil-trail-mix-nut-free/

    • I think my moms would get too crunched up! She uses butter and worstershire (sp?) to make them stick together so well–love to get the clumps πŸ™‚

      Thanks for the ideas, little birdy! Xoxo

Leave a Reply

