Welcome Home

After a whirlwind tour of the southeast including hundreds of miles on my car and 4 states (GA, SC, NC, VA), not seeing my husband for almost ten days, listening to Windfall 50 times with the windows down while I drive along the windy southern roads…I came home.

I dropped my bags. I kissed my dog. And my husband. David showed me all the yard work he proudly did over the weekend. The house smelled like cooking onions (one of my favorite smells) and David told me he had dinner going. It was 3:30p (lol). Guess he was excited about his dinner plans to welcome me home which made it that much sweeter. Luckily I didn’t eat on the road when I left VA at 10:30 or so, so I was starving at 3:30. He must have known.

Voila! Warm Beet and Sweet Potato Stacks

beetsandsweets

He found a vegetarian recipe that used a lot of my favorite food: sweet potatoes, beets, goat cheese, onions and he even made the vinaigrette. So impressed with this man. I was impressed with him before, don’t get me wrong. But this was the perfect surprise to come home to. We’ll probably have the same thing for dinner again…maybe over some kale?  Jack and Nancy…well done on raising this one (aka David). He’s a keeper.

It’s the little things, ya know?

2 thoughts on “Welcome Home

Leave a Reply

