Camp Love

 

I am totally and completely full of love after I leave camp. Quiet time to reflect about what I’m doing with my life ends up always being what happens when I’m there–which I guess is what most people reflect about most often. People think we’re crazy when we keep going back, I know, I know. But to go and get in touch with myself in a place where I always continue to learn and find out about myself is pretty great. No lie. Everyone needs an unwinding and battery-charging place, and mine happens to be camp. I’ve spent time every summer since I was 8 there. Never missed a session. Try to never miss a reunion. And lucky for me, most of my closest friends still do the same thing, so we get to go and volunteer now and still be together in a space we’ve all grown up, which is awesome. We talk about different things when we’re up late at night now than we did when we were 10 or 15 or 20 or 25, but it is amazing how talking with old friends in person while you’ve got good music and a comfortable setting means the world. It didn’t hurt at all that my little sister was around and I don’t see her as much since I’ve moved to SC and to spend any time with her is always great. She was there for me and I hope I for her, and it was special to have that time together. I also got to spend time with my twin god-babies who aren’t babies anymore, and they just melt my heart. Contrary to their parents wishes, no, our kids won’t be campers together because no, we’re not having kids anytime soon. Sorry Dan and Anna.

photo 1 (3) photo 1 photo 2 (2) photo 2 (3) photo 2 photo 3 (2) photo 3 (3) photo 3 photo 4 (2) photo 4 (3) photo 4 photo 5

Oh and if camp “trending” is a thing, it is totally happening. Have y’all checked in with Bonnie Tsang, Jen Gotch, DesignLoveFest or Oh Joy on Instagram? These lovely LA ladies are bloggers/photographers extraordinnares full of inspiration! Follow them on Pinterest too–tons of good stuff. But I guess they were all camping-it-up in Ojai, CA with their hashtag #girlscoutcamp —looked super fun!

AND feel free to check out my CAMP Pinterest board, because it’s super fun pics and projects that remind me of camp. Like this.

And this.

And some of this.

camper

2 thoughts on “Camp Love

    • C’mon back east, you won’t regret it. Oh, and Anna designed these shirts bc I sent her an idea of one like it from Pinterest. It’s nice to have a camp shirt that’s not ugly 🙂 miss you teen

Leave a Reply

