Healthy Almond Cookie Chews

Okay, so I read a lot of blogs and pin a lot of things about being “healthy”. But inevitably, I think some of you will agree, most healthy food tastes…”healthy” (aka not like the original therefore not QUITE what you had in mind). Does healthy food taste bad? Certainly not. (well sometimes I’ve baked some really healthy and as a result, really nasty stuff). You get the point, right?

And then, in the midst of a major chocolate craving, I stumbled across these babies from Monica Nelson (my friend Britt over at Eating Bird Food blogs about Monica sometimes–hence how I found her).

Moni Cashew Cookie Chews

I know, I know. looks like a healthy cookie, and probably tastes weird too. But she swore that when she has “a craving to eat a chocolate chip cookie the size of her head”, she can have one of these, and it totally quenches that craving. So I figured…I have all of these ingredients. Let’s see how good these little “raw” cookies are.

AND OH MY GOD.

So good! Seriously. I would not lie to you.

Here is her recipe. (can also find it here on her blog).

Servings

7-10 Cookie Balls

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup unsalted cashews, if salted- then no need to use the of 1/2 tsp salt-fyi
  • 1/4 cup rolled oats
  • 1/4 cup whole-wheat pastry flour (other flours work too)
  • 1/2 tsp kosher salt
  • dash of cinnamon, optional
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 2 tbsp vanilla agave syrup or can use coconut oil-depends on what flavor you are after(or a bit more if dough is too dry)
  • 1-2 tbsp of pure maple syrup (or a bit more if dough is too dry)
  • optional-2 tbs peanut butter (or cashew butter is great too) skip this if you want original cookie dough flavor though
  • 1/4 cup dark chocolate chips

Directions

  1. In a food processor; add the cashews and oats and process until it forms a fine crumble. Now add in the flour, salt,  and process for a few seconds more. (Add the dash of cinnamon if you want now-optional). Add in the agave (or coconut oil), maple syrup, and vanilla and process until combined.  Add the nut butter now if using-optional as well.

  2. It will be sticky, but this is normal. Add in your chocolate chips and stir by hand is best. Form into balls. Can keep out but I find them best in the fridge or freezer. YUM!

The only things I did differently were:

1. Used almonds instead of cashews (used what I had).

2. Added shaved coconut (to make it like a s’more cookie).

3. Didn’t use maple syrup (used extra agave nectar instead).

4. Didn’t use cinnamon (sometimes I think it’s overpowering).

DSC_1032

Mixed the ingredients together until they looked like this (kind of sticky).

DSC_1034

Then roll it into balls. And freeze.

DSC_1035

After an hour or so in the freezer, I tried one. OMG. They were really good! All natural ingredients. You could totally drop the flour and add more almonds I bet. And you could dip them in chocolate if you want.

I’ll be keeping these little babies on hand for sure. Get it, on hand? Okay, sorry! It’s Monday. Trying to cheer everyone up after a long and wonderful weekend.

DSC_1046

5 thoughts on “Healthy Almond Cookie Chews

Leave a Reply

