toMaters

Remember how yesterday I was telling you that I didn’t get a chance Wednesday to get a good workout in because we were having people over?

Well, I got home from work just a little before 5 (driving to and from Beaufort–remember now?) and I had about 2 hours to get some food and drink ready and luckily David did a lot of cleaning that morning so the house looked great.

Most people think that Tomato Pie is really summery…and maybe it is. Who can we consult? Paula Deen?

Anyways, I’ve had a recipe from my mom for a while and had never made it. But it has 7-8 ingredients, so I thought I’d give it a whirl.

So…here goes. Thank you mom and Paula Deen. Y’all know just what southerns like. Cheesy pie.

Ingredients 4 tomatoes, peeled and sliced
10 fresh basil leaves, chopped
1/2 cup chopped green onion
1 (9-inch) prebaked deep dish pie shell
1 cup grated mozzarella
1 cup grated cheddar
1 cup mayonnaise
Salt and pepper
Directions
Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.Place the tomatoes in a colander in the sink in 1 layer. Sprinkle with salt and allow to drain for 10 minutes.Layer the tomato slices, basil, and onion in pie shell. Season with salt and pepper. Combine the grated cheeses and mayonnaise together. Spread mixture on top of the tomatoes and bake for 30 minutes or until lightly browned.To serve, cut into slices and serve warm.Here are some of the photos of my experience baking it. Notice I got a pie crust that came in a pie pan. But I wanted a “deep dish” tomato pie, so I wanted to use my own dish. So what did I do? I stuck one pie crust in my dish, and then cut up the second pie crust to make it a little bigger. I figured, once it baked, you’d never tell the difference. And I was right.DSC_0824

DSC_0830

Slicing and draining the tomatoes is super important because you don’t want the tomatoes to be all wet, and you don’t want your crust to get soggy.

DSC_0829

DSC_0826

DSC_0833

Layer everything in there. And hey–I know sometimes you can sub healthy things in and out, and I’m all for that, but don’t skimp and get a low-fat cheese. As you may know, it doesn’t really melt properly, and so you need to use the real deal. I even added a little Asiago to the top because we had a little left. Go for it. Live a little.

photo 2

photo 4

So voila! Tomato pie deliciousness! It was really simple and tasted really good!

Thanks to Mom and Paula Deen for the recipe!

Happy Friday by the way! Big things happening in Atlanta this weekend! Woo hoo!

2 thoughts on “toMaters

Leave a Reply

