IKEA HACKER

Heard of Ikea Hacks? Where you make Ikea blandness into something less boxey and Ikea-y, and instead more personal and unique? I keep stumbling across some good hacks that are totally DO-ABLE as far as my mediocre DIY skills are concerned.

Let’s get this party started.

HACK #1:

Office Chair BEFORE (Patrik)

PATRIK Swivel chair IKEA Height adjustable for a comfortable sitting posture.

And Patrik’s Lovely AFTER:

IMG_1569

Since Ikea stuff comes inย pieces, it really is the perfect stuff to tamper with. Now this is a cool mid-century modern office chair that she just spray painted gold. (how to from Hither and Thither).

HACK #2:

Ikea Pax Closet/Storage System: BEFORE

PAX Wardrobe with 2 doors IKEA Sized for KOMPLEMENT interior organizers. Adjustable feet for high stability.

Pretty bland, no? I get the great storage for sure. ย And used in the right place, ย it could be totally awesome. Hence why I love Emily Henderson. Check out her improved office doors.

Pax AFTER:

In her words…”pin that sh*t”. I am obsessed with those knobs.Yeah.

HACK #3:

Ikea Lack Table (RETAIL $10)

LACK Side table IKEA Easy to assemble. Low weight; easy to move.

And the inspiration from Clementine and Olive was a Clayton Grey Table (retail $455)

And here’s the hack AFTER. (not the greatest pic, but you get the idea).

That probably cost around $20-$25.

HACK #4:

Ikea Vittsjo unit (USD $70)

Done 2 Ways:

#1 Centsational Girl

smaller tv on shelf

Spray painted white and the wood was stained darker. Awesome.

#2: Gold and Glam by Ana Antunes

Spray painted gold with the glass shelves option (as opposed to the wood option above).

Amazing, right? Makes you wanna get to Ikea and start changing things up! Just takes a little research and creativity. And Pinterest helps.

**In other super fun and exciting news, I’ll be headed to Richmond this weekend (ROAD TRIP!!!) to see one of my favorite Brides to be, Britt! My college roomie for 3 years! I’ve got Stephen King’s 11-22-63 downloaded on my phone for several hours of “reading” in the car! Can’t wait for the weekend!

One thought on “IKEA HACKER

  1. Hello! I know this is kinda off topic but I’d figured I’d ask.

    Would you be interested in exchanging links or maybe guest writing a blog
    article or vice-versa? My blog addresses a lot of the same topics as yours and I think we could greatly
    benefit from each other. If you might be interested feel
    free to send me an email. I look forward to hearing from you!

    Superb blog by the way!

Leave a Reply

